This Post Isn’t Meant to Brag

Today, taking the bus to school (late, as usual. note to self: gotta work on that), a homeless man asked me for some money to buy food. It just so happened that I was holding my lunch in my hand (a sandwich I bought yesterday from K’s Sandwiches. good stuff), so I gave it to him. He was very gracious and thanked me for the sandwich, saying that I was an angel sent from God. Then he ensured me that good things would happen for me today. He said that I would get an A on my test, a girlfriend, etc. Here are just a few things that happened to me today:

-Talked to no one during campus evangelism at two different dining halls because they all rejected me (sorry to hold you back Stanley)

-I received a bad grade on my history essay (boy was he wrong)

-I did not get a girlfriend (thank God cause I ain’t ready)

Many people, including Christians, believe in this concept commonly known as karma. If you do good to others, good would come back to you. If you treat others poorly, bad things would come back to you. As much as anyone would want to believe this, this is absolute heresy. As a sinner that deserves nothing but hell, God showed His grace and mercy to me, that while I was His enemy and a child of wrath, He sent His Son to die in my place. It’s easy to thank God for physical blessings like a job, place to live, etc., and we rightfully should. But it’s just as easy to overlook the even more important blessings that believers receive at salvation: assurance of eternal life with Him (Jn. 3:16), the Holy Spirit (Jn. 14:26), adoption into His family (Eph. 1:5), and even the same power that raised Christ from the dead (Eph. 1:19-20)! The only reason I have any capacity to do good is because of the Holy Spirit’s continual sanctifying work in me. For any and every good deed I perform, all the glory should go to Him, not me.

So let’s be thankful for God’s blessings, both physical and spiritual, because we surely don’t warrant them. Remember that God chose us not because of who we are or what we’ve done, but in spite of who we are and what we’ve done.

Note: I did get to talk to him about it. Didn’t get to share the complete Gospel and he claimed he is a Christian, but pray for him as well as another opportunity for me to talk to him in the future.

Leave a Reply

