Reflection on My Grandfather’s Passing

In the book of 2 Timothy, the apostle Paul, under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, begins the epistle by thanking God for his beloved Timothy, specifically for the legacy of the faith in his family. He writes, “I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well.” He continues on later in the letter, exhorting Timothy to “continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.”

Likewise, God has been faithful to me. My grandparents, being the first Christians in our family, raised my mother in the discipline and instruction of the Lord who, along with my father, raised my sister and me the same way. By God’s grace, there is a Christian heritage in this family that He has preserved over three generations, and Lord-willing, He will preserve for many more generations to come.

A few years ago, I was visiting grandpa and grandma. At this point in my spiritual life, I had already been a Christian for more than a couple years, and I was struggling to read the Bible consistently because I didn’t need to anymore: I grew up in the church; my parents read the Bible to me; I thought I already knew everything. That past Sunday, I heard a sermon from 1 Peter 1 about how a Christian is marked by how much they read God’s Word. I was challenged to read more, but it hadn’t completely soaked in yet. That day, when I walked in, I saw grandpa sitting at his desk, with His Bible open, diligently studying the book of Daniel. To see him at his age still reading the Word of God was an encouragement to me that I am always in need of the Word as nourishment to my soul. Paul goes on to remind Timothy that “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work.”

Praise the LORD, all nations!
Extol him, all peoples!
For great is his steadfast love toward us,
and the faithfulness of the LORD endures forever.
Praise the LORD!

(Psalm 117)

Leave a Reply

