Reflections on My Grandmother’s Passing

This is what I shared at my grandmother’s memorial service. I hope this serves as a blessing to you:

Growing up, our family would visit my grandparents almost every weekend. Grandma was always excited to see me and spend time with me, despite all the times I wanted to just watch TV or read every box score from the sports section of the newspaper. She displayed genuine hospitality to everyone that walked through her doors. I also remember that she frequently prayed at our extended family gatherings. She was an example of years of faithfulness to the Lord.

I also want to take this time to encourage my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ. In the gospel of John chapter 14, Jesus said to His disciples on the night before He went to the cross,

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.” (John 14:1-4)

At this time, Jesus told them that He was leaving, and He knows that they felt uncertain about the future. He comforts them in verse 1. If you believe in the one true God of the Old Testament, you can believe in Me. This is a call to trust Him with full confidence. Why? He explains that He is going back to the Father in heaven to prepare a place for them. Eternal life with God awaits all Christians after death. He promises also that He will come again to take us to be with Him and our heavenly Father. Earth is not home, for we are strangers here in this world. What a promise that is the hope of all Christians. We are in eager anticipation of His second coming.

If you are here today and don’t consider yourself a follower of Jesus, this promise can be true for you too. Thomas, a disciple of Jesus, then asks Him,

“Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?” Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. (John 14:5-6)

There is no other way to be right with God. Everyone, including me, is a sinner that doesn’t meet God’s perfect standard. But God showed His love by sending His Son, Jesus, to be the sacrifice and die in our place. Three days later, He conquered death by rising from the dead. If you turn away from your sin and place your faith in Jesus as Savior and Lord, you will be saved from the wrath of a just God and adopted into His family. There is no amount of good works that you can perform to earn God’s favor. Only through Jesus is there forgiveness of sins. So I plead with you to consider this truth.

We celebrate today because my grandma is away from the body and at home with our Lord. Let us rejoice and praise Him, for His steadfast love endures forever and His faithfulness to all generations.

Leave a Reply

